If you’re the Owner or Administrator of your account, you’re able to control which people have which roles in your account. Here’s what each of those roles can do:

  • Owner: add, remove, or change the permission level of any user. Create, add to, and edit maps.
  • Administrator: add, remove, or change the permission level of any user except Owners. Create, add to, and edit maps.
  • General User: Create, add to, and edit maps.
  • Guest: View one specific piece of content on one map

You can also set some roles that you can assign to people for specific sites/maps. Those roles are:

  • Limited: Add to the map, and edit your own content. Cannot edit content added by others.
  • View-Only: View the map, and leave comments.

Here’s what you do to change someone’s account-level role:

1. From your Dashboard, go to your People tab

2. Find the user you want to change the role of. Click on the three dots at the right end of the row that person is in.

3. Then click on Edit Role.

4. The Edit Role menu will appear. Open the dropdown menu for Role by clicking on the caret toward the right side of that dropdown.

5. Select the role you’d like to change that user to, and then select Done in the lower right of the Edit Role menu.

You’ll see the role change once you refresh your screen.

To give a role to someone for one project in particular, here’s what you do:

1. Start on your Dashboard’s Sites tab. Click on the three dots in the upper right of the site you want to change permissions for. 

2. Then, click on Manage People

3. On the Manage Site page, find the user you want to change the role of. Click on the three dots at the right end of the row that person is in.

4. Click on Edit Role.

5. The Edit Role menu will appear. Open the dropdown menu for Role by clicking on the caret toward the right side of that dropdown.

6. Select the role you’d like to change that user to, and then select Done in the lower right of the Edit Role menu.

You’ll see the role change once you refresh your screen.

There you go! Just remember, you can only do this if you’re an Owner or Administrator in Unearth. If you’re not one of those roles, ask your Owner or Administrator if they’ll give you one of those roles, or if they’ll make the change you want to see for you.

If you run into any issues or have any questions, please reach out to us at support@unearthlabs.com.

Did this answer your question?